The Industry Source for New Age, World, Ambient, Electronic, Solo Piano, Relaxation, Instrumental and many other genres of Music
review board:  View all reviews Submit your own reviews
Binkelman's Corner by Bill Binkelman
Bill Binkelman is a long-time icon in the industry.
Other reviews from Binkelman's Corner by Bill Binkelman:
  National Park Soundscapes by Jill Haley, reviewed by Bill Binkelman on 1/23/2017
  Hinterland by Stephen Bacchus, reviewed by Bill Binkelman on 1/4/2017
  Reflected In A Flowing Stream by Kathryn Kaye, reviewed by Bill Binkelman on 1/2/2017
<<-later reviews | earlier reviews->>   <<- all reviews ->>
By Curtis Macdonald
Label: CMMP
Released 11/3/2015
Christmas tracks
1. It Came Upon A Midnight Clear
2. Hark The Herald Angels Sing
3. O Come All Ye Faithful
4. Joy To The World
5. O Holy Night
6. Silent Night
7. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen
8. We Three Kings
9. O Christmas Tree
10. Deck The Halls
Curtis Macdonald - Christmas
Here in Minnesota, we are used to cold weather at Christmas time. However, no matter whether your weather at this time of year is chilly or not, if you want your holiday music to contain some "chill," then Curtis Macdonald's Christmas is just what you need. Ten traditional carols (nine spiritual, one secular) get Macdonald's special treatment as he brings his piano and arsenal of keyboard sounds and rhythmic textures to bear on the selections while also retaining the original melody in every instance. Many of the tracks are performed in a relaxed, laid back vein, with beats that soothe rather than invigorate, and electronic embellishments that enhance, not detract, from the "old-fashioned" holiday spirit. Even the usual celebratory "Joy to the World," while among the more "revved up" songs here, does not get bombastic; it's just elevated a tad. "Deck the Halls" closes the album with a subdued flurry of fast tempo melody and gently thumping bass beats. Macdonald's chill-out music (see his superb When Dreams Come True) has always been among the best in the genre and Christmas is no exception. It's one of the best Christmas music selections featuring electronic keyboards and beats I have ever heard and certainly much more fitting and easy to enjoy than even the best efforts from Mannheim Steamroller, in my opinion. It's the perfect album for those who need a contemporary spin on the old-time classics.
- reviewed by Bill Binkelman on 12/21/2015
Site Map     *     Privacy Policy     *     Terms of Use     *     Contact Us
Core Solutions, LLC