The Industry Source for New Age, World, Ambient, Electronic, Solo Piano, Relaxation, Instrumental and many other genres of Music
review board:  View all reviews Submit your own reviews
Binkelman's Corner by Bill Binkelman
Bill Binkelman is a long-time icon in the industry.
Other reviews from Binkelman's Corner by Bill Binkelman:
  Follow the River Home by Jeff Pearce, reviewed by Bill Binkelman on 1/24/2017
  In the Company of Clouds by Erik Scott, reviewed by Bill Binkelman on 1/23/2017
  A Hero's Journey by Karen Olson, reviewed by Bill Binkelman on 1/23/2017
<<-later reviews | earlier reviews->>   <<- all reviews ->>
SnowLight: A Christmas Memory
By Lynn Tredeau
Label: Self Released
Released 8/15/2015
SnowLight: A Christmas Memory tracks
1. Snowlight
2. Angels We Have Heard On High
3. Silent Night
4. Ukrainian Carol
5. Jolly Old Saint Nicholas
6. Colors of a Winter Night
7. Hark the Herald Angels Sing
8. A Child's Christmas Prayer
9. It Came Upon a Midnight Clear
10. Coventry Carol
11. Pines Dressed in Winter
12. We Three Kings
13. Holly and the Ivy
14. O Holy Night
Lynn Tredeau - SnowLight
Unlike the other Christmas music albums I have reviewed this year, Lynn Tredeau's solo piano offering, SnowLight, features more originals than the others. Four of the fourteen pieces are penned by the artist, and while it is always difficult to evaluate whether anything but a traditional carol sounds "Christmasy," her self-composed pieces do fit into the framework of the album. For example, the opening "SnowLight" could be the soundtrack to watching snow fall late at night, perhaps from the living room window, with the only illumination being the dying embers of a fire in the hearth. The gently rolling melody carries evocations of both warmth and somberness. "Colors of a Winter Night" is even more subdued, with a mixture of melancholy and beauty wending its way through the melody. As to her arrangements of the traditional carols on the album, Tredeau isn't afraid to put her personal stamp on each one, but she never strays too far from the piece's core so that those of you seeking something familiar will likely find her improvisations entertaining without being distracting. The album is, for the most part, low key, so it would be good for after dinner music, or even later in the evening. Tredeau states in the liner notes that this is an album she has wanted to release "all my life" and I hope that the process of recording it was as rewarding as the listening to it will be for lovers of solo piano Christmas music.
- reviewed by Bill Binkelman on 12/21/2015
Site Map     *     Privacy Policy     *     Terms of Use     *     Contact Us
Core Solutions, LLC