The Industry Source for New Age, World, Ambient, Electronic, Solo Piano, Relaxation, Instrumental and many other genres of Music
review board:  View all reviews Submit your own reviews
New Age Music Reviews
New Age Music Reviews is an independent music review service contributer to ZMR. Click here to learn more about them.
Other reviews from New Age Music Reviews:
  Sunset Breeze by Lynn Yew Evers, reviewed by Keith MuzikMan Hannaleck on 3/12/2018
  Moonlight In Empty Rooms by Heidi Anne Breyer, reviewed by Keith MuzikMan Hannaleck on 3/9/2018
  Music That Tells A Story by Symphonex Orchestra, reviewed by Keith MuzikMan Hannaleck on 3/6/2018
<<-later reviews | earlier reviews->>   <<- all reviews ->>
To The Moon And Back
By Blackmore's Night
Label: Minstrel Hall Music
Released 8/18/2017
To The Moon And Back tracks
1. Shadow of the Moon
2. Spirit of the Sea
3. Renaissance Faire
4. Play Minstrel Play
5. Under a Violet Moon
6. Spanish Nights
7. Fires at Midnight
8. Ghost of a rose
9. Cartouche
10. Village Lanterne
11. The Circle
12. 25 Years
13. Dandelion Wine
14. Home Again (Live)
15. I Surrender (Bonus Track)
16. Moonlight Shadow (2017 version)
17. Somewhere Over the Sea (2017 version)
18. Writing on the Wall (2017 version)
19. Coming Home (2017 version)
20. Ghost of John (Bonus Track)
21. Minstrel Hall
22. Possum Goes to Prague
23. Durch den Wald zum Bach Haus
24. Nur eine Minute
25. Village Dance
26. Land of Hope and Glory (2017 single version)
I have been listening to Ritchie Blackmore play guitar since the 70s. He was always one of my favorites and so were his bands Deep Purple and Rainbow. I believe he made even more prolific music after moving on from DP. Rainbow was an amazing project with a string of great albums, and the beginning of his change in direction. So, what happened after that? If you are a fan you know the answer.

It is hard to believe that this much time has already passed. To The Moon And Back-20 Years And Beyond… is the quintessential career retrospective for the band. The 2 CDs are comprised of 26 tracks, bonus tracks, recent versions of older tracks and a bonus video.

You get the whole package, all the goodies wrapped up in a nice tight little package. And if you are a big fan that owns all the releases, it helps you appreciate the band’s accomplishments even more. It is also a reminder of how much great music this amazing group of musicians have produced over two decades. And that does not include several tasty DVD sets.

Great players like Blackmore have always surrounded themselves with a stellar supporting cast and this band is no exception. And yes, they are unique in a typically watered down repetitive pop hit culture. They are and always will be light years ahead of that curve. That is the very reason I was attracted to them so strongly, and of course all the previously mentioned reasons.

This band plays music that takes you back in time, way back, hundreds of years. Blackmore and his mates offer up a lively combination of world, rock and Celtic music that would tickle any music lovers fancy. The musicianship is impeccable and his wife, the beautiful Candace Night, has the voice of an angel. That all combines for a stunning combination of sounds and visions of days gone by, when the knights of the round table ruled in ancient castles (where by the way they like to play concerts) and Robin Hood was stealing from the greedy rich to give to the poor.

The band dresses up in period clothing and their audience members are glad to oblige. A concert from Blackmore’s Night (which I have attended) is something special. It’s like being serenaded at the Renaissance Fair by some of the greatest musicians in the world. It truly is a multi-dimensional experience that you need to experience at least once. Listening to the music will give you a good idea of what to expect. It is carefree, relaxed and sometimes their music just plain rocks. That is fine with me when Blackmore pulls out that white electric guitar and gives it a workout.

When you are finished listening to To The Moon And Back-20 Years And Beyond… it will feel like the title was a good description of the uplifting this music can give you. If you have not heard this music this it is a great starter set. If you are fan like me, you will love it without question.

Keith “MuzikMan” Hannaleck
September 14, 2017
Founder of:
MuzikMan Productions
MuzikMan Reviews
Write A Music Review
Prog Rock Music Talk
New Age Music Reviews
Rate The Tracks

Review Provided By New Age Music Reviews
Rating: Excellent   Excellent
- reviewed by Keith MuzikMan Hannaleck on 9/14/2017
Site Map     *     Privacy Policy     *     Terms of Use     *     Contact Us
Core Solutions, LLC